More than Just Roughness: AFM Techniques for Thin Film Analysis
Date: 01-Jun-2016
Time: 4.00pm BST, 5.00pm CEST, 11.00am EDT    
Thin films and coatings are critical in everything from common consumer products to next-generation photovoltaics and data storage. Regardless of application, enhanced film performance is increasingly achieved by controlling and manipulating materials on micro- and nanometer length scales. Thus the need to measure film structure and properties on similar scales has grown correspondingly important.
In this webinar, we explore the powerful capabilities of today’s atomic force microscopes (AFMs) for characterizing thin films. For example, the AFM is well known for its high-resolution topographic imaging capabilities. But recent improvements in speed, sensitivity, and ease of use make it more valuable than ever for quantifying 3D roughness and texture. We cover the basic concepts of surface imaging and analysis, and show illustrative examples.
Research and instrumentation advances have also produced a variety of AFM techniques to characterize electrical, electromechanical, and other functional response. We overview these techniques and discuss in detail an example of their application to memory access devices in the semiconductor industry. New capabilities for nanomechanical imaging are also briefly introduced.
With examples that cover a wide range of systems, this webinar highlights the impact and versatility of advanced AFMs for thin-film research and development.
Log on now and ask post your questions to our speakers! Questions will be addressed during the Q&A session at the end of the webinar.

Yours sincerely,
Joe D'angelo
Materials Science Publisher

Register now